Onondaga County Democratic Party leadership from left to right: secretary Prerna Deer, elections commissioner Dustin Czary, chair Max Ruckdeschel and treasurer Dan Petrick.

The Onondaga County Democratic Committee elected new leadership last week, replacing New York State Assemblywoman Pamela Hunter as chair with DeWitt Town Councilor Max Ruckdeschel.

Hunter decided to not run for re-election earlier this year.

Along with Ruckdeschel, the following Democrats were voted into leadership:

  • Prerna Deer, a Manlius Democrat, ran unopposed for secretary
  • Dustin Czarny was re-elected as the Democrats’ elections commissioner
  • Dan Petrick was re-elected as the Democrats’ treasurer

Ruckdeschel beat out Ronnie White, a former Syracuse Common Councilor, and Donna Moore, the director of workforce development at the Syracuse Northeast Community Center.

Deer replaced Jimmy Monto, who was recently appointed to the Syracuse Common Council and did not run for re-election as the party’s secretary.

The change in leadership comes ahead of a big election cycle. Seven of the nine Syracuse Common Council seats and Onondaga County Legislature will be up for grabs next year. Voters will also decide all countywide races, including for county executive, district attorney, comptroller and clerk.

Editor’s note: A previous version of this article stated that all nine Syracuse Common Council seats will be up for election in 2023. Only seven of the nine councilors will have to run for re-election.

Suggested Reading

Chris Libonati covers government, accountability and equity. Have a tip? Contact Chris at 585-290-0718 or libonati@centralcurrent.org.